top of page

schemper yearly update


I called Greg on my way home from work last Tuesday, and before I could ask him my question, he said, "Ok, two things: one is not horrible; the other is not great. The Sequoia wouldn't start this morning, and we have standing sewage water in our furnace room."


This is how our year has gone. Some things are not horrible, but there seems to be an over-abundance of crap.


Just as I was thinking about hitting "stride" in my new job as Director of ditto upscale resale (a seriously delightful resale store that benefits our beloved Christian schools), the pandemic shut us down for two and a half months. In some ways, it was a respite between the stress of learning a new job and the shopping/donation frenzy that has come after, but I still find myself questioning what I actually accomplished during the forced downtime. (Besides, of course, writing the critically critiqued picture book, "Sarah's Wild Hair.")


After an eight-year battle with renal cancer, Greg's dad died on April 24. We remain thankful to the pandemic (that feels weird to say) that it allowed Greg and his four siblings the time to be together during Dad's last weeks on earth. God works in mysterious ways, but this gift was not lost on us. I love to picture the five kids and Mom, sitting around Dad's bed singing their favorite hymns, and speaking softly about significant memories (including the bathroom with no door in an old home) when he passed from his broken body into the full glory of God's presence. We should all be so lucky. But it makes me cry even now.



Perhaps it was my assessment of Greg's handling of his grief (he seemed stuck in one grief stage, of which I will not get into just now, for fear it will ignite his righteous rage--Oops!) that rekindled my interest in psychology. (Nieuwsmas, you see, are helpers and doers,) After months of investigation and prayer, I'm pleased to say that in January I'll begin taking classes at Marshall University (of the We are Marshall movie fame) toward my master's in clinical mental health counseling. This online program will, Lord willing, allow me to continue to work full-time and keep my wits about me. No worries, I do realize I'll have to tweak a few things about myself before I'd be ok to counsel others (including not screaming, "WHAT?!" when I hear shocking things). I think it's common knowledge in our home that I'm not the most empathetic person when it comes to counseling my very own daughters, so that may be another thing to work on. (My list seems to be getting longer.)


About a month before Michigan's COVID shut-down orders, I was able to meet up with six other

college buddies in Charleston, South Carolina, for a weekend getaway. It was SO refreshing and made me want to get away more!

Greg has made some questionable (by me) choices in his life, including teaching English, as opposed to oh-I-don't-know, something without essays, like gym, music, or math? (Now, I'm either related to, or great friends with people who have chosen better, and I can only assume they'd agree with me.) The end of last school year was difficult, but this school year has about done our beloved Greg in. He's currently teaching Chemistry, Freshman English, Film Production I and II––initially all in person, then in-person and online, and now all on-line. I think it's safe to say that no one is their best selves right now, including parents, students, teachers, and ditto store directors. And yet, here's where we're at. Greg has a great heart for his students, his colleagues, his family, and his world. We could all use a few more Gregs right now! (Literally, I could use two more.)


Kater Jayne is a Sophomore! She has been learning virtually at home alone the past two weeks, and as nice as that sounds to me (all I ever want is to be home alone – is that bad?), it has not been a cake walk

as she has back-to-back classes and Stella Rae insists on sitting on her lap, in front of her camera all day (pictured right--Stella loves the spotlight). Kate received her drivers permit last month and is 6 hours into her required 50 to receive her license on May 10. (Funny, somehow it feels like longer.) While some parents perhaps slam on the invisible brakes as their child drives, I bear down on my invisible gas pedal. Maybe another example of how I'm not a most patient parent to a teenage girl? (strike #2. Ah well, I'm a Nieuwsma, I'll get over it.) Kate's most recent interests lie in being an esthetician (not to be confused with an anesthetist--you'd only make that mistake once) and she loves to research healthy living/natural skin care. She has a quick smile and a kind heart, even when she calmly said, "Why would you buy something so beautiful just to kill it later? Seems cruel!" while I was planting my third round of outdoor plants in my flowerbed.


Before the world shut down, Elia was a bird girl in HCMS's performance of Seussical Jr. It was so beautifully done, and it was the last performance Dad S attended. LeeLee (as I sometimes call her) is quick to claim "this is middle school, and my grades don't count but I'll start trying next year!" Though, to be fair, she's still doing very well, despite the end of last school year, where she wrote down on a big white board everything that was still due. This was two days before the end of the semester. And the board was full. But she did it! Lesson learned (for her and for me). Elia has a new business called May's Bracelets and has been successful promoting it on Instagram until we saw The Social Dilemma and I forced her to take Instagram off her phone. (I occasionally allow her to check in to promote her business, because, well, money is important too.) Elia's 8th grade year has been tougher in a lot of ways than last year, but she's walking over to the high school for upper-level Spanish classes, and is looking forward to being a freshman in HIGH SCHOOL next year! Elia loves to babysit, experiment with baking, create gifts, and is catching my practical spin on some things. After she found out that our August camping expedition wasn't free, she exclaimed, "So, we paid money to be homeless for a few nights?!"


She will do just fine.


Stella "Stew" (as she hates to be called because of my affinity for slowly cooked crockpot meals) and Molly Anne are still alive and well. We're excited that Anny, who lived with us for her freshman and sophomore years at HC, is back to finish her senior year with us. Greg's sister Jayne, her husband Brad, and their three boys moved here in July as Brad got a job at HC teaching, coaching basketball, helping organize middle school athletics. Greg's brother Keith and his wife Vivian are also moving in with Greg's Mom for a few months as they both are working from home. It's fun to have more family around! My brother, Josh, was asked (by his wife) to leave his home in October, and has been living with my parents; they are now going through a divorce. All I will say about this is that this divorce has brought a whole new level of devastation and grief to us all. In the wake of this, my family will celebrate my parent's 50th (!) wedding anniversary on December 29th (video yet to come), and we are so very thankful for their marriage!

Ever since ditto reopened in early June, and I found myself driving to work with some anxiety, I began praying for "strength for today and bright hope for tomorrow." This prayer has continued and extended to include Greg, Kate, and Elia (because I'm not a monster), and I find that when I pray for the energy, wisdom, joy, and enough peace for each day, I have exactly what I need. If I think too far ahead, I get overwhelmed, but God has been good to us this year, specifically felt through the support of our amazing community of friends, and family.

On that note, it is our great hope that this Christmas season, and the new year will bring much joy, peace, comfort, and purpose to you all! You can do great things. You can learn new things. You can work hard. It's never too late to improve yourself. You can drive with confidence and speed. Your labor is not in vain! (Do you see how good I'll be at this counseling thing?!)

With lots of love,

Sarah, Greg, Kate, Elia, Stella and Molly


Super Greg!


Sarah & Dordt buddies in South Carolina in February!


Greg, Kate & Elia at "Budda's" gravesite on what would have been his 69th birthday.


Elia (13), Sarah (it's none of your business), Kate (15).


Elia & Kate with Aunt Allie after she highlighted their hair (because they have the best aunts ever!!) Need more proof? Check out a new Bodyfit By (Aunt) Amy video featuring Kate & Elia!


Greg teaching on his three laptops!


Stella asleep in a pile of clean clothes. Bless her heart.


A family picture courtesy of (sister) Jayne Jansen Photography!

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

bottom of page