top of page

how to live like a schemper in 2024

Recommendations based solely on Schemper experiences in 2023, the author assumes no responsibility or liability for any direct or indirect loss of any nature, be it fiscal, time, or goodwill. 


  1. Go ahead and treat yourself to those concert tickets! 

Our most notable concert, of course, was Taylor Swift’s Eras Tour that was unanimously well worth the overnight drive to Arlington, TX, on the first day of Spring break! The fam also enjoyed Ben Rector and a Girl Named Tom earlier in the year, the girls got on stage quick a second with Toby Mac in March, and Kate surprised Elia with Jonas Brothers tickets in December to close out the year.


2. Take at least 1307 pictures of the dog, and 12 of the dad.

This one is pretty self explanatory. Here is the only picture we have from our family Christmas…maybe when Greg ups his wistful look, things will change for him a bit.




3. Become gainfully employed.

Turns out money is an integral part of a fair market economy, so promptly after graduating from Marshall University with a master's in counseling, I decided to start earning some. I’m currently working at Midtown Counseling, through which I go into the Holland Public elementary and middle schools three mornings a week to pull kids for private sessions, and I see individuals and couples in my offices at both Midtown Counseling and at Konfara Counseling. I have no regrets for earning this degree, or for starting to make some money, though I vacillate between thinking counseling is the most natural fit for me and feeling like I’m in over my head––a humbling position in which to find myself at 47. Both girls babysat last summer, and Kate tutors students in Spanish at Calvin a few hours a week. Greg has never quit working, so there’s not as much to say about that, except that he’s still slaying (doing well) with his Film 1&2, Communications, Design+ (the design-thinking and internship class he created last year), and AP Lang, which Elia is in this year (she procrastinates a bit more than a dad/teacher might hope, but she does do an excellent impersonation of her dad/teacher for private viewings). 


4. Get out of town already! 

I’m currently writing from a balcony in Tampa that overlooks Old Tampa Bay, because I realized a couple of months ago that I would need to see the sun at some point this winter, and Christmas Break is the only time all four of us will be available. This is a very non-Schemper thing to do, as we are just sitting and relaxing, and I’m not positive how I feel about it. But the sun is delightful, and the birds are aggressive, we get to see Keith and Vivian, and Elia agreed to talk to us about her future, so we should be good! In May, Kate left for two weeks in Israel with 60-some kids from her class, and she came back tired, sore, full (spiritually and physically––the food was great), and said she’d do it again in a heartbeat, even the hard desert hikes. She also took a quick weekend trip to Stratford, Ontario, with Calvin's Communications department to catch Much Ado About Nothing and Rent. While Kate was in Israel, Elia flew for a week to visit Uncle Kurt & Aunt Amy in LA and was spoiled with food and fun, the musical Six, and some improv shows. In October, Elia also flew with her Bible study group to Estes Park, CO, for a weekend. Greg visited Keith and Vivian in the DC area last February, and he was also spoiled with the best weekend of food, fellowship, and fun. After seeing Taylor (Swift) we drove home via our spring break bff’s (the Schiebouts') place in TN, and then spent a few days in Nashville and were able to connect with old California friends. Kinda like Lassie, we get around and we don’t stay anywhere super long (and we’re relatively hairy, helpful, and cute).


5. Celebrate accomplishments, preferably with enough egg bake to feed 240!

For my master’s graduation, I got to throw Kate Jayne a high school graduation open house! (I’m actually not bitter about that, but I can appreciate how it might sound like I am.) How might one throw an open house? Throw up some pictures, prop up a donut wall, and serve pans and pans of quinoa egg bake. Done!


6. Decrease your at-home children by 50%.

This is considerably easier to accomplish when you have two kids. The morning before we brought Kate to Calvin, I ran (literally I was running around our block) into my friend Jen (but not literally into Jen), and she asked me how I was doing, and I started to cry. (This is my three-pronged approach to let you know I am indeed still jogging every morning, that I’m in touch with my emotions, and I have a friend––if subtle and eloquent enough, you can acceptably toot your own horn.) It’s an odd thing to drop your kid off somewhere with a carload of stuff and go home without them, though being able to see her within 50 minutes has softened the blow. As did the fact that it only took Kate a week to meet some of her best buddies, and after a month she admitted college was as great as we’d promised. (Phew!) With Kate gone (and then not gone, and then gone…), Greg and I have turned our attention toward Elia, which brings me to point number seven. 


7. Care enough to argue (like a lot) with the remaining 50%

I don’t know how to say this in a way that will paint me in the best possible light, but I argue with Elia a considerable amount of the time. I actually know exactly what I should say or not say with her, but I find the stakes too high and my triggers too deep. I do believe parents should be actively talking with their kids about practically everything, so it must be the execution that needs some finesse. We are so thankful that Elia is a mature, kind, resilient, and passionate young woman, and we couldn’t have picked a better girl to give all of our attention to!


8. Forget building that deck that you’ve been talking about for 7 years, and string patio lights in your dining room!

Kate no longer believes we’ll complete the home building projects we’ve been debating lo these many years, and while it might seem I’m agreeing with her by building my dream deck inside, I’m not, it’s just…how pretty!


9. Never stop learning.

While my active learning has ended, I still read a good many (first half of) books, and do some quick research on how to best help my clients and how to string patio lights inside. Greg as well is continually investigating concepts and ideas and car fixes, and he’s currently in 2nd place for his Duolingo Hebrew Amethyst League group (which the other 6 in his group insist is a very big deal!). Elia continues with her 11th grade year of high school, and Kate is currently majoring in psychology, communications, and Spanish. ¿Como es que tanto? She has a lot of interests, but philosophy is not one of them. For Christmas she gave Greg the stack of her printed philosophy reading assignments because he learned alongside her as they spent hours on the phone talking through her reaction papers. (I tried to help, but my brain short-circuited when reading the instructions.)  It helps to have a Greg on your side when you’re struggling with a paper, or a concept, or a car.


10. Get on a stage as often as is humanly possible. 

Kate finished her HC Living Hope Singers season with a Disney-themed showcase last spring, and Elia is in the group this year, and we are already enjoying their performances! We got to see Kate’s Calvin acapella group, The Knightengals, perform earlier this month. Last winter, Elia's one-act MIFA theater team won the state championship (yes, in Michigan we make even theater a sport) for their performance of the play The Women of Lockerbie (she was one of the women), in spring Elia played a charming and old murderess in Arsenic and Old Lace, she was a VonTrop daughter in this fall’s Sound of Music, and she's playing Cecily Cardew from The Importance of Being Earnest in this year's MIFA one-act season.


11. Throw caution to the wind and wear your uninsured wedding ring on a double kayak trip with your buddy who says, “Let’s just head toward the more rapid water, Sarah!” 

This particular incident happened while on my Dordt friends college reunion trip to Columbus, Ohio, last July. While I wouldn’t necessarily recommend losing the most valuable and meaningful item you own, the fact that Greg and my guy friends went back the next day with scuba gear and metal detectors to look for it, that Greg is always so kind when I make silly mistakes, that I got to be so close to my friend Jodi’s unbridled optimism and adventurous spirit, and that this group still wants to stay up talking till 3am 30 years after college all made me feel incredibly blessed––and I'm reminded of this each time I catch a glimpse of my $50 replacement band, which quite honestly is almost identical to my platinum band!


12. Figure out what brings you joy, and add more of that in your life! 

Be it Beth Moore podcasts, creative projects, a favorite candle, sushi, watching competitive cooking or baking shows, learning something new, or entertaining! The older I get, the more I want to invest in what will last––relationships, experiences with people I love, and classic mid-century modern decor. 


Praying your 2024 is schemptastic and filled with that which brings you joy! Come visit us sometime!


Greg, Sarah, Kate, Elia, Stella (the dog) & Molly (the cat, to whom––we’ve recently discovered––Kate is dramatically allergic...and who has an attitude problem. Message me if you’d like a beautifully moody cat!) 


Outside Kate's dorm, Boer Bennink:



Kate & friend Ella's open house:



Uncle Brad (emcee & Frozen skit ready), Kate & Greg (goon from Tangled) after Living Hope Showcase:



Bro Keith & Greg:



SIL Alli, Elia, Kate & Sarah at Ben Rector:



Stella, just getting some work done:



T Swift, Baby:



When you only get twelve pictures a year, you make them worth it:



Junior Jewels:



Elia & friend Emily as murderous sisters (Arsenic & Old Lace):



Kate & Elia at graduation:



Kate & friends in Israel:



I taught them everything I know:


Kate & uncles at Calvin (Guys on way to Michigan game):



Elia & cousins Mya & Kai in Cali:



Greg ending the year strong in the Florida sun:





Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

bottom of page