top of page

pictures of a beautiful life

I can see them clearly, images from a life well-lived. (Though, to be fair, I compiled the slideshow and have watched it thirty-seven times.)

And I see you:

Cradling my babies.

Cradling your babies.

Full beard.

Mustache.

Clean shaven.

Sideburns.

An adorable brown-eyed boy.

Modeling clubby Christmas presents and a toilet paper dress.

Family pictures from a party of 2 growing into 22.

Games. Oh, the games.

Backgrounds of floral wallpaper, and a white Toyota van in the African heat.

Laughter.

Ice cream treats.

Cake.

The Silly Gooses.

Graduations.

Your retirement party.

New Year's Eve.

Walking your daughter down the aisle.

You with your father and first born.

Praying.

Boo Budda.

All Buddies.

Mom by your side.

Life is good t-shirt.

Strong.

Healthy.

Dependable.

Adored.

And somehow, Dad, the picture I have in my mind of my husband helping you into bed and kissing your forehead through his masked face, is my most cherished picture of all. Because, despite the pain of this image, and how we wish it wasn't for another twenty years, the love and faith you've shared has made it so devastatingly beautiful. Peace, even through the tears, as he kisses the most important man in his life goodbye.

See Dad's 68th Birthday Slideshow here.

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

bottom of page