top of page

tis the season

I just dropped the girls off at a babysitting gig, and am sitting on the chaise side of my MCM grey couch with my "hope less dream er" shirt that everyone misreads. I've set my Tim Hortons coffee mug next to me, atop some red sugary crumbs I can only assume fell off of one of Elia's recent snacks. The sun glistens through dirty windows revealing all the dust and cobwebs inside I've been graciously shielded from by the winter clouds of West Michigan. My living room is classically decorated (I still have alarmingly good taste), and blankets, white boards (exam week), and school projects are strewn precariously throughout the room. My Stella Rae has cozied up beside me, the Christmas tree is aglow with colored lights and ornaments that mean something to us, or were free,

while the washing machine whirs downstairs with an ever-so-slight banging noise that reminds me yet again that we need to get that checked out.

Our upstairs has been a tornado zone for over a week (not to insult tornado zones) and I've informed the children that there will be no Christmas until it's picked up. From here I have a clear view of our fridge, which holds artistic treasures, Greg's doppelgangers*, and inspiring verses: "She is clothed in strenth and dignity and she laughs without fear of the future"..."See, I have engraved you in the palms of my hands"..."Knowledge is knowing a tomato is a fruit; wisdom is not putting it in a fruit salad" (not Biblical but still solid).

*Greg's most recent doppelganger sighting (clearly very excited about whatever he's pouring into his cup).

Next to the fridge is my new beverage fridge, nestled under the counter and filled with LeCroix. I

smile remembering my caffiene induced proclamations to Greg: "We'll keep it stocked with drinks and invite friends and co-workers over every Friday for happy hour!" I can be silly like that sometimes. Greg is now in his home office, listening to "Strange Negotiations" and working, still, on this his first day of Christmas "Break."

If you ever want to find Greg, that's where he'll be. I did happen to mention on his way there this morning that I don't think he always appreciates me, that I need him to help me clean more, and then informed him of my dream last night in which I was single and being pursued by two men (for real, but don't worry, I wasn't super excited about either one of them). I think after 17 years of marriage, I still expect him to be bothered by the same things that I am. To be fair to Greg, and to all the founding members of the Greg-is-the-best-husband-ever fan club, he did make me coffee this morning, and after my pep rally, he scrubbed the bathroom and did the dishes. We are coming off the hardest fall in almost a decade (since the fall of my dad's heart a-fib, my uncle's accidental death, and my ensuing heart palpitations and panic attacks).

In September Greg began as the Winterim Internship Director at HC (he's still teaching 70%) in which he's coordinated 190 week-long placements for the first week of January. Sounds easy enough, right? Yet somehow it has claimed all his time and zest for life. In October I began my 35 hr/wk job as store director at ditto (the upscale resale store that was started by both ZCS and HC to aid with tuition reduction), which combines my love of thrift, senior volunteers, organizing, and something different every day! I started loving it in early December, but before then I cried at least once every week. (Just being honest with you.)

Here I am pictured on my fifth day on the job in a promotional interview with my sweet co-worker Mary who thankfully actually knew what she was talking about!

I've still been doing some work for The Beach House from home, and I started my 3-year term as deacon at our church in June. To quote the ever-wise and red-headed Archie of the comic strip Archie, "E-Gads!" Besides crying and apparently dreaming of the single life, I seem to handle stress by yelling at my children ("I see a book! I see a hair elastic! I see someone's dirty socks!"), not making sense (yesterday I took a 25-inch long piece of glass to the hardware store and asked them to please cut it into a 28-inch long piece to fit a picture frame I have at home), and being paralyzed by simple decisions (I bought and returned two sets of family pajamas for a Christmas picture, but kept saying, "Are we the kind of a family that spends $60 on PJs for a picture?!" (To which I ultimately and probably not surprisingly decided No.) How does Greg handle stress? He stays up late, gets up early, and runs almost every day. Yuck. Sadly neither of us do laundry when we're stressed out. Last week I sent this picture to my SIL to get an Amen or condolences--she sent both. Not pictured are the piles of clean clothes on the floor.

I feel as though there may be a proverb or something about airing your dirty laundry (not to do it?), but it's not written on my fridge anywhere so I can't be certain.

Any job stresses we've had this year, however, have been put into perspective by things that, you know, are life-alteringly difficult. My brother Josh has been struggling with increasingly debilitating autoimmune issues for years, and Greg's dad continues to have set-backs with his renal cell cancer (which has spread now to his lungs & bones). Last Saturday as he was getting dressed, his humerus broke. Watching someone you love struggle with health is not easy, and watching someone you love watch his dad struggle is painful too. (Which ultimately makes my single-lady dreams seem even more distastefully inconsiderate, but what am I to do--not tell people about my dreams?!) But, as my father- and mother-in-law and fridge continually say, The eternal God is our refuge, and underneath are the everlasting arms. We are so thankful for this!

We joke that this is the year of Elia: she has switched schools from Zeeland Christian to Holland Christian Middle School (7th grade) and has found a gaggle of friends (which ironically is a good word to describe them), is on the worship team, was one of four middle schoolers chosen to perform in the HIGH school musical (Joseph & the Technicolored Dream Coat), secured a part in the middle school musical (Seussical Jr.), has succesfully choreographed and lead another sacred dance at church, won (again) the coloring prize at our local grocery store, and has been preparing to officially become a teenager in a few months! (I can tell she's going to nail that part too.) She still likes to throw me under the bus by divulging classified information to listening ears (which until now has mainly included her grandmothers). I very recently held up a piece of her art work (over the recycling) and asked her if she "wanted to keep it," and she was so aghast that she told her art teacher about it who was "very disappointed" in me. Elia, is tenacious, a great clothes folder, and addicted to television. (I couldn't think of a third adjective...she's not going to like this either.)

Elia was invited by her 3rd Grade teacher to be interviewed on TV to talk about a volunteer program they'd participated in.

Technicolored roses from our dear friend Ryan!

Kater is a FRESHMAN at HC! She, as well, got a part in the high school musical, so we're continually grateful that she's such a kind older sister (though the first week of practices she did come home saying, "We're going to have to set some ground rules, Elia!"). A couple weeks ago Kate participated as a writer in the high school's 24-Hour Theatre competition, is enjoying the high school social life, has somehow picked up a (Canadian?) accent with certain words, and began taking voice lessons at Hope College. Kate wrote, sang, and recorded a song she wrote for her Budda (Greg's dad), and loves to tinker in our music room (boiler room) on the electric piano and guitar. Kate is kind-hearted, a hard worker, and a hoarder. (She's not going to like that either.)

Homecoming dance in Aunt Alli's dress!

Stella is my sweet baby, though we agree she loves Kate the most. When not sleeping in Kate's bed, Stella likes to sleep on Greg's side of the bed. Or, Greg likes to sleep on Stella's side of the bed, depending on who you're talking to. Stella is cuddly, exciteable, and loved.

Molly Ann is still with us. We simply have to instruct visitors to ignore her and let her initiate contact. Molly is furry, aloof, and gray.

We had two young goats for a night. Greg saw them walking by our house when we got home from church on

Thanksgiving morning and corralled them into our fenced-in garden, where he proceeded to put up a sign, created a neighborhood watch, fashioned a shelter, and secured food and bedding for his new buddies. I was slightly surprised he didn't sleep outside with them, but he insists he wasn't sad when a frantic neighbor drove by the next day looking for her lost pets. Fluffy and Baaarbara were loud, hungry, and distracting.

I'm trying to remember what happened this past year. My beloved Grandma Dykstra died in January and the girls and I drove out to NW Iowa with my parents for her funeral.

This picture is in fact not from the funeral, rather from our quick stop at my alma mater, Dordt!

In June, Greg went with Ray VanderLaan and a group of 60 teachers and students from Holland Christian to Israel for two weeks!

It was HOT!

Greg and his friend Scott on the top of Mount Timna.

In July the four of us drove out West to see family, my friend Jodi (who is like family), our old stomping grounds, and several movie studios...it was such a good trip!

My cousin Jesse got us in for a personal tour at Paramount!

The Grand Canyon.

Grandma Schemper (who just turned 99!). Have I wet your whistle for more Schemper trip pics? Is so, click here.

There were several other family reunions, short trips, and camping with some of our friends. I mean, I'm sure we have myriad other accolades, accomplishments, and events we could share, but I don't want to make you feel incompetent. (Let that be your Christmas present from me!)

Thankful again for another year of blessings, provisions, you, and the ability to laugh at ourselves and without fear of the future!

With much love,

Sarah, Greg, Kate, Elia, Stella, Molly (and even Fluffy and Baaarbara) Schemper

Prom night 2019 Baby!

HC Prom 2019 Baby!

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

bottom of page