top of page

money money money


What is it they say you should never discuss...politics and money? Especially if you're a Dutch-American Christian? Whatevs.

When my family lived in Africa, we got our hands on some old local money which was in the form of twisted metal rods. (It would make you think twice about fighting with your brother over "cash" for fear of contracting tetanus.) Regardless of what societies have used as money, it has remained a driving factor in community life, a symbol of security, and a key component in our goal of ultimate autonomy and contentment.

Last week Greg and I watched the documentary, "Born Rich," about several great-grandkids of wealthy American families, who never have to work a day in their lives, and many of them hadn't. Almost all these 20-something kids seemed to share some qualities: narcissism, pleasure-seeking, social awkwardness, and anxiety. I mean to say, even more so than we all did at the same age. But this is a different kind of rich--the non-working rich, so I'm not going to focus too much on this right now, but I found it very interesting, and slightly depressing.

I've worked with and around people who could buy and sell me (though oddly, no one ever tried), and it has always been clear to me that money doesn't buy happiness. Just because you don't have money problems, doesn't mean you don't have problems. It does, however, buy nicer things and more free time, but at the end of the day, once our basic needs are met, joy, contentment and peace do not increase with the amount of money you have. Ok, I just wrote this and was searching for data to back my statement up (as I always do) and--turns out, I've been wrong lo these many years. Money actually can buy happiness. Oopsies! But let me explain.

Upon reading Christopher Peterson's article "Money and Happiness" in Psychology Today, I learn that as our money increases, our life satisfaction increases--even past where our basic needs are met--but, at that point less incrementally. With increased income comes increased comfort and pleasures, and, yes, comforts and pleasures can increase our happiness, even if only temporarily. The most "happy" nations are also the richest ones, because with money comes personal freedom and autonomy. Peterson goes on to reference a study where people were given the exact same wine. In the participants who were told the wine was expensive, the pleasure parts of their brains lit up more than those who were told it was Two Buck Chuck. (That's why I don't spend more than $6 on wine, but from now on I know to lie about it.)

When we lived in Africa my family was probably amongst some of the richest people in our area. We had a bucket for a shower, no climate control, and no vehicle. Here in Holland, we live half a mile from some of the wealthiest people in Michigan, but we have air conditioning, a great home, and two vehicles. Were we happier before? If you see people enjoying comforts and goods that you can't afford, does it make you appreciate your comforts and goods less? Maybe. Probably depends who you are. If you stop to think about all the comforts we have now that our grandparents didn't have (because it didn't exist yet)--air conditioning, heated car seats, color televisions--are we any happier than they were? I honestly don't know, but our buns are definitely happier.

Because I want to be always content, and never bitter (for having to work like a dog in the street), I took to heart the words of my friend the wise Rev. Jennifer Ryden who said we can combat our fears by memorizing God's promises. So I took a look into my soul and thought, "What am I afraid of?" I'm not afraid of not having enough money, but I think that I consider it too much sometimes, so I memorized this verse: "Make sure that your character is free from the love of money, being content with what you have; for He Himself has said, "I will never dessert you, nor will I forsake you." (Hebrews 13:5)

Years ago I asked our financial planner if he thought ten thousand dollars would be a good emergency fund, and he said he knows people who are not comfortable with their 50 thousand saved up. I guess when it comes down to it, if we're looking for security in money, we'll never find it. When we lived in California, our pastor once said that God doesn't need our money--He's actually pretty well off, but He wants our hearts, and He knows our hearts are wrapped around our money.

I absolutely love stories of how God has provided for people at exactly the right time. I have my own, like when, after searching online for a good deal on winter black boots, I finally shut my computer and prayed for God to help me find a good deal. The next day we went to my in-law's house, and my mother-in-law was getting rid of Greg's sister's winter black boots. My size. I would have survived perfectly well with buying a pair, but this gift made me feel loved and taken care of.

I have never once had to do without. Without a fancy vacation? Yes. Without the couch of my dreams? Sure. But without food, heat, fuel and laughter? Never. Greg and I recently set aside some money for his favorite cause in the Dominican Republic. At the last minute, he asked if he could up the amount $100 to make it a more even number, so I said (cheerfully I'm sure), "Fine, the money will come from somewhere." And do you know what? The very next day, Greg returned some left-over roofing supplies and he got $100 more than I'd expected.

And that's why God has such good credit.

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

bottom of page