top of page

dual-citizenship


Patriotism: the quality of showing "vigorous" support for one's country. We all have our national anthems, our independence day celebrations, and here in the states we even pledge allegiance to our flag. But what happens when you're a citizen of more than one country?

I am what's called a "dual-citizen." I was born many, many years ago in a not too far away land called Canada, to two American citizens. I was twelve, the age Kate is now, when I left, so my formative years were spent under the maple leaf. After a year in Africa, my family moved to "The States" (which is what Canadians call America), and I've now lived here for much longer than I was ever in Canada. So what am I? I'm an American who is originally from Canada, and lately I've been reflecting on what that means to me.

I am proud of Canada. I get a warm feeling when I see the Canadian flag, it symbolizes peace and comfort for me. Oh, Canada, the magical land that I remember, where parents (or, most certainly grandparents) speak Dutch, where the kids eat droppies in church, the old men smoke outside after church, and everyone drinks lots and lots of strong (Tim Horton's) coffee. It's a land where children grow up playing hockey on ice, and drinking milk out of bags. We hold a strong tradition of apologizing for things that are not our fault, and of congratulating a parent on their child's birthday, or a child on their uncle's wedding. It is a land filled with very colorful money, the ability to say $hit without people looking like you just kicked their dog, and throwing a "u" after an "o" just because we can. Canada is friends with everyone. Our leaders are kind and easy to respect. We don't like drama, we include in our history the stories of the inuit people, we're bilingual (well, I'm not, but you know...), and we don't muck up the skyline with billboards. This is the land that gave us basketball, garbage bags, standard time, the telephone, and Justin Bieber. Every time I pass over the border into Ontario, I sing the national anthem, start to tell stories of this strange land to whomever is in the car, begin saying "eh?" again, and inevitably, in a small way, feel like I'm coming home. Accent aside, you give me five minutes with a person and I'll tell you which country they're from. Canadians are natural, friendly, honest, and easy for me to love.

However, back on this side of the border, is my home. This is where I live, this is where I did the second half of my growing up, this is where my husband is from, where my children were born, and where my best friends are. I just read a book about Nazi occupied France (The Nightingale) and was so proud of America's hand in the liberation. America is a transformative land. It has offered a new start and new hope to so many people throughout the years, and it was truly (and to a certain extent still is), the land where anything is possible. Americans are sacrificial for the greater good. We seek to help the helpless, and restore world order. Americans are risk takers and brave. It is known as "the melting pot" of the world--a place where different nationalities, ideas, and backgrounds are contributing to some great things. In a relatively short amount of time, our country has been the birth place of countless inventions of science, medicine and technology, including the florescent light bulb, refrigeration, the microwave oven, the zipper, and the tater tot casserole. Our contributions to the fields of entertainment (film, television & music) are unparalleled. We started rock 'n' roll, jazz, jeans, Hollywood, and the internet. You're welcome! (See what I did there? I acted like I had a hand in the successes of the land I'm currently living in. Smart.)

So what does it mean to be torn between two lovers? I have the heart of a Canadian, and the body of an American. (What?!) Anyhow, I think that this is my take-home: the benefit of being a dual citizen, is that I can put myself into two different points of view. I can see that people are generally the same wherever you go, and everyone takes pride in where they're from. So, this past week I celebrated the 150th anniversary of the Canadian confederation, and the 241st anniversary of the declaration of independent America. Two great countries, two great homes, and endless opportunities for vigorous support!

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

bottom of page