top of page

what your books are saying about you

I've always been a tad jealous of voracious readers. I grew up with one (shout-out to Tanya), then one became my sister-in-law (Meredith), and now I'm raising one (Kate). I remember taking Black Beauty on the school bus and counting to ten for each line, so it looked like I was reading. (Seemed the appropriate thing to do, as opposed to actually reading it. But then, I also wore precription-free glasses after college to make myself look super smart. If nothing else, this blog is teaching me just how odd I used to be.)

Thankfully I eventually stopped counting and started reading, and found that with the right book, I could get lost in the story. I've even gotten to the end of a book before and said out loud, "What just happened?!" (I say that every week after Scandal as well.) You know how it feels to be immersed in a book: as though you know the characters, you cheer and cry for them, and then feel kind of lost when it's over. Despite the post-conclusion blues, there is nothing better than having a great book on vacation. In my non-vacation life I have to limit my novel intake because I've found I pull all-nighters, and subsequently ignore my children. Wait, I do that when I'm binge-watching a TV show as well. Maybe I have a control problem. Ah well...I'll save that for another day.

Our pastor at Bel Air Presbyterian would often say, "You give me a list of the books you're going to read, and who you'll hang out with, and I'll tell you who you will be in ten years." Sounds like a threat, but few things matter as much as these in forming our opinions and shaping our lives.

As you've no-doubt already read, reading has many benefits, including stress reduction, improving knowledge, memory, analytical skills, focus and concentration. But thankfully we don't have to be naturally avid readers to reap these rewards, any reading is good reading, and we can even benefit a lot of these same rewards by being read to (which Greg is doing right now.)

The newest book he's reading to the girls is Percy Jackson: The Lightning Thief. So far so good. But I'm not listening, so what do I know. (And by-the-by, Kate is doing her mannequin head's hair--didn't want to alarm you.)

It has been reported that, since the election, there has been a surge in sales and interest in the old dystopian classics (1984, It Can't Happen Here, Brave New World). While the reason for this is not completely clear, it seems people are looking for frames of reference, moral clarity, or a hint of what's to come.

I remember reading Lord of the Flies in high school, and becoming disgusted that civilization could fall so far so fast. It made me uneasy, as perhaps it was meant to. But while some people re-scour these books to try to get a glimpse into the future or make sense of the present, I find myself turning to lighter fare. No, not children's fantasy novels, as an increasing number of adults have picked up to take their minds off the problems of modern life, (I still feel the need to accomplish things in my escaping), instead I turn to witty and poignant reflections by middle-aged women.

As, apparently, does Greg, if you were to believe his recently paid $13 library fine for the late-returned books The Chic Shall Inherit the Earth and Tiding of Great Boys. (Poor Greg, he can't even have a manly library fine in our house.)

If you're in search of more proof that Greg and I are opposite in many ways, here is his end of the bed:

Greg is in the middle (or end or beginning) of at least 16 books, the titles of which include Story, Good Faith, A Passion For Truth, All the Light We Cannot See, The Sickness Unto Death, and Chemistry: The Central Science. You know, lighthearted nighttime reading.

And mine:

What you see here is Quiet Power The Secret Strengths of Introverts and Boundaries: When to Say Yes, How to Say No to Take Control of Your Life...neither of which I have problems with, thus the fact that I'm not plowing through them at the moment. (I'm trying to better understand those I live with.) I finished a book at one o'clock this morning, and already passed it on to a friend. I get it done and pass it on. Greg savors, stores, and repeats. He proudly finished the 1400 page Les Miserables, after working at it for three years. But probably the best book he's read, he's said. (Not that he remembered the beginning by the time he got to the end.)

I LOVE complicated, long stories (drama), but I don't have the patience to read through (or even watch) all the rigamarole that goes with them, so I have been known to either request a synopsis of a book/movie/entire season of a television show (Breaking Bad) from someone in the know, or google plot-lines and endings (The Girl on a Train). I even skim self-help books, which I think I learned to do from a self-help book once. Maybe I should read The Power of Patience.

So, as my give-away this week, here is what I remember most from the books I've most recently read, you know, to save you the time of reading them yourself. But then, that's not the point, is it? But I want to do this anyways, so let's see what I've learned so far this year:

From Aunt Erma's Cope Book; How to Get From Monday to Friday in Ten Days, by Erma Bombeck: Self-help books never really help, but they give us good fodder for writing.

From The Magnolia Story, by Chip and Joanna Gaines (I read this out loud to the girls): Do not marry Chip Gaines. But do read his book, as he's a goof-ball, and he and Joanna have some great stories to tell.

From Talking as Fast as I can: From Gilmore Girls to Gilmore Girls (And Everything In Between) by Lauren Graham: Lots of fun tips on what Lauren has learned about love, work, writing, and fame. Plus some behind-the-scenes on Gilmore Girls and Parenthood, her binge-worthy shows.

From Present Over Perfect by Shauna Niequist: We could do it all, but can't do it all well. And when we try to become who we think others want us to be, we squelch the parts of us that makes us unique. And it inevitably makes us cranky. (She says it so much better.) Plus, it's not too late to re-make your life. When you find yourself thinking about someone, "Must be nice!" try to evaluate what it is your jealous of--it's probably not too late to change your current situation.

So there you have it. Erma, Chip & Joanna, Lauren, and Shauna all made me laugh out loud at least once, and I probably cried for each one at some point. That, I guess, is the sign of a good book to me, laughter and tears, and definitely laughing so hard I cry (which I did for The Magnolia Story). Whether you enjoy dystopian fiction, classics, sci-fi, self-help, mystery or romance, what are you reading this week on the beaches of Florida? No really, tell me. And while you're at it, tell me what the sun feels like...because it has been a while!

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

bottom of page